Meta Logo

Changes to Social Plugins in the European Region

You may start to see some impact to Social Plugins due to an updated cookies consent prompt that will be shown to people using Facebook products in the European Region. We will no longer support the ‘Like’ and ‘Comment’ Social Plugins for European Region users, unless they are both 1) Logged into their Facebook account, and 2) have provided consent to the “App and Website Cookies” control. If both of these requirements are met, the user will be able to see and interact with plugins such as the ‘Like’ or ‘Comment’ button. If either of the requirements above are not met, the user will not be able to see the plugins.

The European Region is a specific list of countries including:

  • The European Union (EU): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden
  • Non-EU Members, but in EEA-Only/EFTA or Customs Union: [EEA Only/EFTA] Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway;Switzerland: [EU Customs Union] all Channel Islands, Isle of Man, Monaco; UK sovereign bases in Cyprus; [European Customs Union] Andorra, San Marino, Vatican City.
  • Non-EU members, but part of European Outermost Regions (OMR): Martinique, Mayotte, Guadeloupe, French Guiana, Réunion, Saint-Martin, Madeira, The Azores, Canary Islands.
  • United Kingdom (all British Isles)

Download free Facebook Comments plugin Click here!

Leave a Reply