Facebook introduced the review process as a way to ensure the best possible Facebook experience for your app’s audience. The app review process aims to help people feel in control of how your app is using their data by requesting only the permissions your app needs to provide a great user experience.
At F8 in 2014, facebook introduced Graph API v2.0, the new Facebook Login, and a lightweight Login Review process. The goal of these changes was to give people more control over the information they share with apps. Facebook asked all developers to upgrade their apps and go through Login Review by April 30, 2015. On that date, facebook will begin upgrading all apps to Graph API v2.0 and removing access to any permissions that have not been approved via Login Review.
Beginning April 30, facebook start upgrading all apps to the New Login and Graph API v2. To see if your app has been automatically upgraded, you can go to your app’s Dashboard to see the oldest version of the API that your app can access.
If your app hasn’t been migrated yet, you can opt in to the migration at any time by updating your app’s code to call Graph API v2.0, or by enabling the “Use Graph API v2.0 by default” and the “Enforce Login Review” switches in your app’s settings tab, under “Migrations.”
As a reminder, when an app is upgraded, the following things will happen:
- People will see the new Facebook Login Dialog, with the ability to decline permissions — so new users may not grant all the permissions you request.
- New people logging into the app will be known by an app-scoped ID.
- Only permissions which have been approved via Login Review will be shown in the Login Dialog.
- Only permissions which have been approved via Login Review will be used when making API calls on behalf of existing users.
- Certain permissions (e.g. friends_photos) will no longer be available.
For more details:
- What to Expect on April 30 – Upgrading to Graph API and the New Login
- What is Login Review?
- Facebook Platform Upgrade Guide